Recommend Me! Misfits (TV)

You really should watch Misfits. Like, right now. It’s funny, sexy, thrilling, and incredibly original. Everyone that I have introduced this show to has loved it and never looked back.  Alright, so what the heck is it? (I’ll be vague as possible because the less you know, the more enjoyable it will be.)

Misfits is a British show about five delinquent social outcasts forced to do community service for reasons revealed as the series progresses.  They soon find themselves as unlikely ‘friends’ after a strange lightning storm strikes, giving them super powers; some useful, some certainly not. In each episode, they find themselves in oddly humorous, yet dangerous, situations (love that combo). The unique spin on this show is that they don’t use their powers for good; they are just trying to get out of these absurd predicaments by any means possible. And I mean any.

Here is a quick break down of the five main characters:

  • Alisha, the sexy seductress;
  • Simon, the awkward, silent asocial;
  • Kelly, the ‘what the f*ck did she just say’ hard-ass;
  • Curtis, the bitter, disgraced athlete;
  • Nathan, the sarcastic, hilarious, insult-flinging, jerk.

Though it may seem that they dislike one another, it becomes apparent (to the viewer, anyway) that they truly DO care because all they really have is each other. By the third season (which just ended on British TV), all of these characters will have developed almost into completely different people, especially when compared to my above descriptions.

When I first started following Misfits, I thought there would be no way in hell that I’d route for any of these pariahs; especially Nathan. But do you EVER start cheering and caring for them as the series progresses.  Nathan even turned out to be one of my favorite TV characters of all time and I will even go as far as saying that he probably plays one of the funniest roles in any television show I have watched.

Misfits airs on e4 and god damn has British TV seriously been hitting it out of the ball park these past few years. Shows like Luther and Sherlock should also be on your ‘must watch’ list and I will be writing about in the near future. The way Misfits is shot, edited, and produced is really nothing like I’ve seen before, especially when compared to American television. I think it’s uniquely British because I can see similarities with the other shows I mentioned. So, give this show a shot and I guarantee you that you will not regret it.

With that, I’ll leave you with some hilarious scenes involving Nathan:

Misfits is currently in pre-production for its 3rd season (or as they like to say in Britain, series. Cup-o-tea, mate!) and has been rumored to air later this year. For all you Americans, you can find the first two seasons on Hulu, for free!

This entry was posted in Recommend Me!, television, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recommend Me! Misfits (TV)

  1. Pingback: Ten Of My Favorite TV Opening Title Sequences | dangerjoe

Leave a Reply

